The Dental Medicine was founded in 1963, in response to the necessity of training a specialised medical staff responsible with maintaining the oral health of the inhabitants of the West of the country. Forty classes have graduated the dental school so far.

In 2003, by an order of the Romanian Ministry of Education and Research, the name of the faculty changed into “The Faculty of Dental Medicine”; at the same time the curriculum of the faculty was altered to meet the requirements of the European Union.

The teaching staff of the faculty is formed of 76 specialists who ensure a competitive training. The Faculty of Dental Medicine has the following specialisations:

  • Dental Medicine – 6 years, full-time attendance;
  • Dental Technique – 3 years, full-time attendance;
  • Dental hygiene – 3 years, full-time attendance;

Dental Medicine is a practical specialty allowing graduates to practice their profession without having to complete other specialisations, as in the case of General Medicine.

In 1993/1994, the Medical University College was founded, as a form of short-term education, with the specialisation Dental Technique. This specialisation became an integrant part of the Faculty of Dental Medicine in 2005.

Starting with 1997-1998, a second section of the short-term education was founded – the specialisation Dental Hygiene. In 2003 it became the Specialisation of Registered Nurses in Dentistry, subsequently affiliated to the Faculty of Dental Medicine.

The teaching activity is parallelled by research reflected in a few national breakthroughs: creating the first bridges with adhesive aggregation in the Balkans, introducing for the first time the subject of Oral Implantology, titanium fixtures, galvano-formed fixture restorations, entirely ceramic fixtures, LASER therapy, and other non-conventional techniques in dental medicine.

The changes that have taken place during the last decade aimed at placing our faculty in the international circuit. The Faculty of Dental Medicine of Timisoara is a member of the Association for Dental Education in Europe (ADEE), and since 1997/1998 it has implemented the European Credit Transfer System. As a member of the ADEE, the Faculty of Dental Medicine took part in the DentEd project, financed by the Directorate for Education and Culture of the European Commission in Brussels.